Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Queen of Hearts, Volume 1: The Crown by Colleen Oaks - My Review

I received a copy of this book from BookSparks in exchange for my honest review. 
All opinions are my own.

Blossoming Love. A Father’s Betrayal. A Kingdom with a Black Secret.

As Princess of Wonderland Palace and the future Queen of Hearts, Dinah’s days are an endless monotony of tea, tarts, and a stream of vicious humiliations at the hands of her father, the King of Hearts. The only highlight of her days is visiting Wardley, her childhood best friend, the future Knave of Hearts — and the love of her life.

When an enchanting stranger arrives at the Palace, Dinah watches as everything she’s ever wanted threatens to crumble. As her coronation date approaches, a series of suspicious and bloody events suggests that something sinister stirs in the whimsical halls of Wonderland. It’s up to Dinah to unravel the mysteries that lurk both inside and under the Palace before she loses her own head to a clever and faceless foe.

Part epic fantasy, part twisted fairy tale, this dazzling saga will have readers shivering as Dinah’s furious nature sweeps Wonderland up in the maelstrom of her wrath. Familiar characters such as Cheshire, the White Rabbit, and the Mad Hatter make their appearance, enchanting readers with this new, dark take on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. 

But be warned…not every fairytale has a happy ending.

This is the story of a princess who became a villain.  

My Review:
Take everything you know, or thought you knew about Alice in Wonderland... then throw it right out the window. Queen of Hearts, Volume 1: The Crown, includes all your favorite characters from the classic story, but looks at them in a way you never thought of before. Unknown relationships and sinister motives abound.

If you loved the original story, are a fan of flip-stories from the Villian's point of view, or just love a good fantasy, this is the book for you.

I loved this book from the first page and can't wait to read the next one in the series. All my favorite characters from Wonderland are in the book, but author Colleen Oakes has added both depth and renewed interest to each already larger than life personality. Masterly written this creative prequel helps fill in the backstory for a well known Villian.

Both intrigue and mystery propel the plot line and will keep you reading to figure out how sweet and simple Dinah becomes the great and feared Queen of Hearts.

Pre-order or buy on Amazon Today!

Colleen Oakes is the author of the Elly in Bloom series and the upcoming YA fantasy Queen of Hearts Saga, both published via SparkPress, a BookSparks imprint. She lives in North Denver with her husband and son. When not writing, Colleen enjoys swimming, traveling, and immersing herself in nerdy pop culture. She is currently at work on the last Elly novel and her second YA fantasy series, Wendy Darling.

Connect with Colleen online at:

Pin It

No comments:

Post a Comment

I always love reading your comments and questions. Let me know what you thought about my recipe or post. Comments are currently being moderated due to spam-tastic recent postings. I'll have your comment up shortly. Thanks!